Still On The Same Page

This morning I saw a tweet from some friends of mine Justin and Trisha Davis. They have a marriage ministry called Refine Us. Their story is incredible and you should definitely check out their blog. The tweet was for a new blog entry they had written called “Not on the Same Page”. The post relates to a husband and wife not always being aligned with one another.

Maybe my thoughts were skewed from hearing Pete talk at Cross Point yesterday on the subject, but at first glance what I saw was “On the same page”. My first initial thoughts had nothing to do with my marriage, or what the Refine Us post was about,but just about my life in general. My thoughts were

“Not on the same page,yes I am still STUCK on the SAME page!”

Since our house was flooded back in May in the Nashville Flood my life has just seemed to stop at the same page. It is like reading a book at bedtime and you have to re-read the darn page 20 times because you keep falling asleep. You can’t move on to the next page and on to the next chapter. You are just so tired. You feel lost and don’t know what you just read.

This is my page I re-read everyday.

The details just don’t seem to go away. There is always something related to the flood that keeps hovering over my head. Whether it is finances, tax filing, house renovations, worrying about termites, mold….. the list goes on. I am just plan tired from it all.

Then I start to think about things more. There have been lots of times in life where I have felt like I have been on the same page forever. You wonder how long can God keep you in this state of ambivalence.

When will things get better?

When will you be healed?

When can you finally move on to the next page and the next chapter?

The answer varies each time. I think it does depend on faith, coupled with growth in character. Sometimes it takes me awhile to get a growth lesson. Yes I am blond, so maybe that has something to do with it. ; )

All in all though ,I trust God’s timing is perfect. Sometimes I just hate the wait.

    Ecclesiastes 3:11
    He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end. (NIV)

So what page are you stuck on? What are you ready for God to move along in your life? Love to hear your thoughts.

About InteriorGal

Currently I work for a commercial furniture company. I work with a variety of interior spaces including corporate, church, GSA and healthcare interiors. During my career I have been lead designer,project manager, sales manager, buyer and account executive. On a personal note, I am married to an incredible man and have the privilege of raising three wonderful children. In my free time you can find me experimenting with culinary arts,exercising, enjoying the outdoors or just relaxing with the family.
This entry was posted in Meditation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

